And the word of the day is… Sesquipedalian!


Clarification

Couldn't have said it better myself.

I came across the word “sesquipedalian” today, and what a lovely word it is! It rolls off the tongue nicely and what’s more, it defines itself. What more could you want in a word?

Merriam-Webster defines the word as “having many syllables” (i.e. long), or “given to or characterized by the use of long words”. So it’s a long word for long words; I love that!

However, one must eschew obfuscation and espouse elucidation when electing to utilize sesquipedalian terms, otherwise egregious miscommunications may ensue. ;)

7 responses to “And the word of the day is… Sesquipedalian!

  • Marie

    hahahaha I love it ……..ditto

  • HaLin

    Awesome!

    I hold a secret admiration for long words (I seldom use them in verbal communication, so I try to do my bit for endangered long words in the written domain). I learnt a new word today, thanks to you!

    Glad to have found your blog and I look forward to revisiting.

    • Randomdeviations

      Always happy to help people learn new things! While I myself don’t quite have the knack that you do with long words, I also admire them and wish they were used more frequently (both in written and verbal communication) which is why I quite enjoyed your blog! It’s refreshing to see someone actually using the English language to its fullest :)

      • HaLin

        I sometimes get the mace from my mates, who castigate me for resorting to long words. I tell them the 140 character limit is doing more damage to the world than WMDs! ;)

        PS: On the verbal communication bit, er, you might run the risk of being viewed as an intrepid idiot, subject to stares (as you would’ve guessed, I’ve been on a receiving end on a few occasions). :)

      • Randomdeviations

        Ah yes, the blank stares. That’s happened to me before, and they’re usually combined with the smile-and-nod, meaning either they don’t understand what you’ve said or just that their interest decreases exponentially with the amount of syllables used. :)

      • HaLin

        I’m thrilled at having come across an intelligent, witty writer. Rare combination that.

        PS: I like the exponential reference. I have a soft spot for using mathematical references to convey humour/dismay/exasperation. +1 to you there. In fact, when I read the name of your blog, I half expected to see a math blog! :)

      • Randomdeviations

        Thanks for the compliment! As for the blog title… Yeah, I had a hard time coming up with a name; I wanted something to reflect how I always tend to go off on a tangent when speaking or writing (or thinking). Most of my ideas were apparently already in use, so after a lengthy perusal of a thesaurus, I ended up with Random Deviations. Random Tangents sounds just as, if not more, mathematical than what I’ve got anyway… :)

Leave a Reply

