Take It All In


I’m going to start off by saying that I’m going to do this entry a little different from my weird, wacky usual. Talking about broccoli as evidence that pigs can fly and dying anthropomorphic birds is fun and all (it really is!), but sometimes I like to tone it down a bit to try to fool people into thinking that I’m at least somewhat normal. So let’s begin, shall we?

***

Today was a really nice day. That seems like a somewhat strange topic for a blog entry, doesn’t it? I mean, nothing particularly exciting happened; I didn’t come across anything out of the ordinary, or even meet anyone new. It was simply a really nice day.

It was sunny and warm, and I managed to take a nice long walk along the waterfront. There aren’t many days when I actually stop and take in everything around me. Even though I’ve only been in the city of Kelowna for about 6 months, I’ve already started taking all the amazing scenery for granted. How is that even possible? There are mountains, forests and a giant beautiful lake basically right outside my front door!  And when I say “giant”, I mean it. Okanagan Lake has a surface area of 351 km² (135.5 mi²) so it’s kind of hard to miss.

I snapped a few pictures with my phone to share; the quality isn’t great and I’m no photographer, but you can still see that it’s a sight to behold.

I even stopped to take a closer look at things that I normally would have just walked past.

Loch Ness has the legend of Nessie. Okanagan Lake has the legend of Ogopogo.

Most days, I would never have stopped to read this, but I'm glad I did. It's really quite beautiful and profound.

Even the ducks were out in full force today.

People in general tend to overlook the things that surround them once they’ve become accustomed to them. It’s just human nature; when there’s change, we adapt, and anything that was previously amazing to us simply becomes mundane.

But it doesn’t have to be that way. One can open one’s eyes and learn to appreciate everything once again; all you need is the desire to do so.

That’s why I’m so grateful that I decided to start writing and join the blogging community. In an effort to discover things to blog about, I have managed to open my eyes once again and really look at the world around me; and with the amount of talented bloggers out there, especially those who have an eye for photography (I particularly liked Frivolous Monsters‘ pics of Manchester), it’s hard not to.

Posting pictures like this most likely won’t become the norm for me. Like I said earlier, I’m no photographer and my camera just doesn’t do the scenery justice anyway. But I really did have a great time today doing this, so who knows what the future will bring?

In the end, I’m just thankful that everyone has been so supportive and encouraging. I really didn’t expect this blog of mine to go anywhere, yet today I managed to surpass 500 all-time views (which I know doesn’t seem like a lot to many of you; a lot of people get that or more on a daily basis, but to me it’s a tremendous accomplishment). And now, I get to look out of my apartment window and realize that I’ve got it pretty good:

Can you believe that I stopped noticing this view?

12 responses to “Take It All In

  • Kenneth320

    You are right. This does happen quite frequently. Just today I was talking to my roommate about my hometown. Monterey Bay is home to one of United States greatest aquariums, and yet I cannot recall the last time I visited it. I think it was for some school field trip, but I am not sure.

  • Frivolous Monsters

    Thank you very much for the kind words. It’s just good to know that people outside of Manchester enjoyed them.
    FM

  • HaLin

    Lovely clicks there!

    Congratulations on crossing the 500. And, nice apartment view too!

    You, quite literally, ‘opened my eyes’, with this post. :)

  • pouringmyartout

    I used a bunch of broccoli to make a picture of one of my aliens for my sci fi novel I just finished. Just thought I would throw that in. And I have always wondered about people’s ability to stop being awed by the scenery around them. Living in the Swiss Alps, or Paris, or wherever, just stops being glamorous eventually. That is why I never allowed myself to grow up. I still love the view, the clouds, the flowers. Or maybe it is the artist in me.

    • Randomdeviations

      There are times when the scenery would jump out and grab my attention, like maybe with a particularly beautiful sunset or a very clear night with the moon and stars shining, but sadly a lot of the time it would just blend into the background. Now, I try to make an effort every day to notice the little things around and appreciate them. We all need to try and regain our childlike wonder, or in your case, hold on to it :)

      P.S. I think I need to see this broccoli alien of yours. And read your novel. Any story that contains vegetables from space is a must-see for me

  • kayennepeppa

    Great photos, I especially love the one of the dock. That was a perfect time of day to take that, the shadows of the pillars make for nice composition.

    It is weird what people overlook. I lived in the country about 6 miles from town when I was younger. i kinda took the view for granted most times, but some evenings on my way home from work after a stressful day, I’d just watch the sunset and scenery and start to feel all better. i was always kind of amazed that i didn’t notice it all the time.

    • Randomdeviations

      I’m glad you like the photos! The one of the dock is my favourite too! This was one of those times where the scene just grabbed my attention, what with the sun and shadows and everything. It just screamed “Take a picture of this!” :)

Leave a Reply

